Soda can – rattle chamber

Now that I have been making lures, I figure, I have to compare my silent lures to the ones that have rattle. So, I cut a cleaned soda can up to get the sidewalls of the can to use for the sides of the camber on the wood lure. I just took tin snips and cut the top off, cut down one side and cut the bottom off. The left over side looks something like this.

Can

These rattle tests were to be made into a rattle trap and D Bait which are successful lures for me, but silent, other than hook noise. So to start out, I pick the spot for the rattle where the lure will remain flat! I am using a 1/2″ hole and a 5/8″ recessed lip. I pick the center spot for the rattle and drill with a small bit similar to a 1/16″ to match both sides up for drilling. The top rattle trap shows a finished drill and the D Bait shows the first lip drilled with a 5/8″ Forstner bit. Drill the lip on both sides and only just deeper than you will need to hid the can and glue and only about  1/32″ deep or so.

IMG_0680

Then take the 1/2″ forstner bit and drill about 1/2 way through.

IMG_0681

Flip it over and drill the other side until you finish the rattle chamber.

IMG_0683

Lay the lure blank over the soda can and draw with a fine point sharpie or similar that will draw on the aluminum. Then I use a nice pair of scissors and cut a little wider than the line as shown in the photo below. Add the rattle material and glue the soda can sides on. I used Titebond II and applied it on the lip and over the top of the edges with a toothpick. I used a a small piece of paper folded on each side to apply slight pressure to each cover and wrapped with a rubber band to set over night.

IMG_0685

I used a small 5/16″ x 5/16″ belly weight as the rattle in the D Bait and 4 BB’s in the rattle trap. I settles on 4 BB’s as 2 seemed weak, but 6 to 10 did not seem to make any more noise. Both work, but obviously just a high vs. low pitched rattle. I guess I have to make several of each and see if the fish like silent, high pitch or low pitched rattles better. Maybe it varies by the day and conditions.

Once the glue is set I applied a very light layer of wood putty over the soda can. This is where how deep you make the lip becomes important. Use a large weight for the rattle and it still transmits fine. Use smaller balls such as BB’s and the thinker the wood putty is the less noise the rattle will make. I did notice the BB’s got slightly lower pitched than before the putty. Look closely and you can see on these you can see the putty covering the edges. These were sealed with varnish and off for testing. If not testing them ready for the white base coat.

IMG_0699

Try it for yourself, and Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

