Canoe – Two man layout blind

Another saved post of the canoe blind I used years ago. I was just going though my pictures and found articles and picture of projects I did before my Blog, so here you go. You can tell this one is an old one as my daughter is 17 now and she is clearly 11 or 12 in these pictures. 🙂

One thing hunting educated birds has taught me is you have to go not only where the birds want to be, but where the other hunters will not go. When hunting public rivers and water ways that meant in the rapids and shallow shoals where the other hunters did not want to take their boats. (After this is when I started to discover kayaks for hunting, I just happened to own a canoe at the time.)

I already had a 17′ Old Town ABS canoe I used for having fun and camping. I was thinking of building a hybrid or buying an old 12′ topper jon boat to making into a layout. One winter Sunday, as we can not hunt on Sunday’s in Maryland, I pulled the canoe into the garage and started playing with how to modify it to make it work like a layout. You can see below the finished interior frame, for now.

Canoe_layout_1The seats and the center cross arm where removed and replaced with 2×4’s for strength and to give me something to build on. The first 2×4 in the front went where the front seat was. The middle was the center brace and the farthest was where the back seat was. The back and the front 2×4’s were stabilized with the 45 degree boards just to keep the boards from rocking when used as a seat and tearing up the Gunwale. Most of the time paddling the canoe was done in water water mode with your knees on the bottom.

This design of the canoe makes room for two hunters to lay down and pop up to shoot. You can see the areas with the back rests for the hunters. It’s just 2×8 screwed to the 2×4 strut and then a piece of old deck board put on a 45 degree. These just add a little back rest and we usually take life preservers and use them under us and for the back rest. The life preserver add a little padding and it also as isolation from the bottom of the boat when the water is freezing cold.

I also added 2 – 2×2 stringers down the center of the boat. They make it a little tight some times getting up if you get real low. I usually keep my arms on top and hide the rest of me inside the canoe. The stringer where needed as the fats grass strips sagged a lot when the strips where not there. Once they where added it keep grass from sagging so much.

Below you can see the canoe from the front with me sitting in it. I am about as as high in this picture as I would be when hunting, Except I would not have my arms up pointing in the direction we would shoot. I was trying to show how this blind was meant to be set up near a bank, log or island on the right and both shooters would shoot off to the left side for safety. Normally I would lay lower and just have the gun laying on top of the blind.

Canoe_layout_2Here is myself and my daughter in the canoe to show where both hunters would be and the canoe would be up against a bank, island or what ever just as my garage is in this picture.

Canoe_layout_3This the spud pole bracket I welded up for the canoe. This is just the first design. It works for now. It’s just 1 1/4″ schedule 40 water pipe and welded with a bit of an angle to project away from the boat. There is a hole drilled through each side and it’s bolted down where the center strut 2×4 is.

Canoe_layout_4Here the spud pole bracket is shown with the spud pole in and and the hitch pin for locking the pole. I used a PVC on the canoe and it worked fairly well. The jury is still out on how well it will survive in the cold winters. but you can always use conduit.

Canoe_layout_5I hope this will help you hide where the birds want to be.

Leave a Reply

