Painting a layout blind

One thing talked about in field waterfowl hunting is how can I get my blind ready to hunt. Many places have articles on mudding of blinds and so forth, but they do not tell it all. They leave you short on what all the options are and not just what that one person does.

Mudding of blinds sounds real technical to someone that has not done it before, but it’s basically like having a controlled mud fight with your blind. You want to get mud all over the outside of it and little to none on the inside. The entire idea is to make the outside dirty, remove any shine and make it look more like dirt.

Every area is a little different so you want to try and get dirt from where you are hunting or similar to all the areas you will be hunting. You get a bunch in the bottom of a bucket and mix water with it until it is like pea soup or a runny mess. Then you use your hands or a mop or anything else and smear it all over the outside of the blind. Then you just let it sit and dry out.
This is where people vary on the mudding process. Some say just knock off all the loose mud, some say wash it off lightly with a hose and others say wash all the mud off that wants to come off. The point is when you look at that blind in full sun light you do not want to see and shine and the Cordura they use to make blinds will shine in the sun some.

Mudding works great but I prefer the more permanent option of spray painting of your blinds. This is my favorite way to prepare a blind as it’s permanent and never needs to be redone. This is what I will cover in this article and I will show you how to paint the blind you see below. This is a 2006 Final Approach Eliminate SUB layout blind, but any blind will work. I got the field brown as I feel camouflage on a layout blind is a waste of money. You’re going to cover it with corn, grass, hay or something else to blend it with where you are hunting any way. Also, why spend more money for camo and have to dust it with beige paint to dull it? Why not buy brown and make your own camo since you have to paint it any way.

New Field Brown FA SUB Blind

layout_blind_1Below is the paint I had from painting my Baikal MP-153 shotgun and it was just sitting around my garage waiting for a project just like this one. (Painting the shotgun will be on the list to be published shortly)

layout_blind_2Next I started with the green and brown camo cans and just started tiger striping the blind. This give you some visible lines and you also get over spray which dulls the shine the fabric could have. Once I had the brown and green on an went around with beige and hit any spots where the fabric had not been sprayed. I also hit a few spots that where just dark. Then I took the black and made a few quick sweeping tiger strips. This made a nice contrast.

Painted FA SUB Blind

layout_blind_3As you can see above the blind was extremely light to blend into most dirt. You basically just break it up for any light cover areas you might hunt and hide the very light brown. I went crazy on my first one years ago and browned the entire thing. It was way too dark and I had to lighten it back up. If you buy a camo blind, you don’t need to do all the stripes or any thing. You just take some tan or brown and dust the entire blind to dull it down.

The last thing I do is to paint the inside of the viewing screens as shown below. This was explained to me by my buddy Greg. I was complaining about how I could not see out of it with the sun shining. He told me to paint the inside of the screen black and I would see better and it worked perfectly. Too much light reflects off the light colored camo pattern and you see the screen too much. When it’s black you can see though it much so much better. Although now, I just leave my head sticking out like a whack-a-mole any more so I can see better. But if you hide inside and use the screen, this might help you.

layout_blind_4Notice just in the picture above how you can see the bottom, of the blind though the bottom one and not the top. this picture was taken in the shade also, which make the comparison even worse. If it was taken in the sun light it would have been even worse to see through on the top screen. This entire process took 5 minutes, or less! This was easy and quicker than mudding a blind and it last longer too. Give it a shot and make your own camo pattern and save a few dollars doing it.

Good hunting!

Leave a Reply

