Venison rolled roast

I like some of the smaller roasts and larger back strap cut to fillets them and roll them up. I did not take pictures until half done. I pull out the large fillet and start 1/2″ higher than the cutting board and cut parallel to it. I roll the roast as I get 1/2″ from cutting through and stop when it unrolls like jelly roll.

Here is the best part of the entire thing. I use a Memphis dry run on the meat and it make the entire roast with the help of the Swiss cheese. We got a bunch of rubs sent to us from my M-i-L where she lives down in Memphis. The best rub is Fat Larry’s in Bartlett, TN and I can’t find this online. The next one is Germantown Commissary BBQ seasoning and I used this all over this roast. Use plenty, it needs it.

I plan to experiment on making from dry rubs on my own. My S-i-L made a sweet one while here with brown sugar and that was very nice.

IMG_1097

I coat the inside with dry rub and then cover with switch cheese. More Swiss cheese than I have here is better. I added green pepper this time, but it didn’t seem to add much to the flavor.

IMG_1098

A layer of ham added.

img_1099.jpg

Then roll and pin with lots of toothpicks. Make sure to pin the side closed or the cheese and spices will melt out!!!  I have been here and done this and made lots of very tasty melted Swiss cheese. Cover with lots more dry rub. I couldn’t use enough here as we are running low and I’ve been informed this is my wife’s rub. 😀 Insert probe and I set it to 140°, next time might be 135°.

IMG_1100

Here is the roast done and resting for 5 minutes. It almost hit 150° in that 5 minutes. Maybe rest on the stove, not the turned off grill.

IMG_1101

Here is the money shot! Umm, good eating!

Enjoy.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.